Posted by: pandoramoon | 24/08/2009

Answering The Objections Of Atheists, Agnostics, & Skeptics

On the back of this book it lists some of the objections that Atheists raised regarding Christianity that will be answered in this book

There’s no such thing as absolute truth
Because of suffering and evil, God cannot possibly exist
Science and the Bible are not compatible
The Bible is filled with myths and contradictions
The claim that Jesus is the “only way” is narrow-minded

I actually have some of the same objections myself so I was very interested in seeing how a Christian may respond to them I am going to cover the objections mentioned above and tell you how this book answers them.

There’s no such thing as absolute truth

The author Ron Rhodes covers this topic on pages 11-15 and on page 13 & 14 he says this.

The problem is, the view that all truth is relative is not satisfying. One might understand the statement “all truth is relative” to mean that it is an absolute truth that all truth is relative. Of course, such a statement is self-defeating, since there are supposedly no absolute truths, and is therefore false. Second, one could understand this as saying that it is a relative truth that all truth is relative. But such a statement is ultimately meaningless.

I don’t know about you but I feel dizzy after reading that. I think I understand what Ron is saying here he’s appears to be saying that to say that there is no absolute truth is to claim that statement is a absolute truth. I’d say that’s a fair point I don’t really have anything else to say to this except it would have been nice if he had wrote that in a way that didn’t make my head spin.

Because of suffering and evil, God cannot possibly exist

This objection is covered in chapter 12 which is titled God And The Problem Of Evil and on page 229 Ron quotes from a book called Designer Universe: Intelligent Design and the Existence of God written by Jimmy H Davis and Harry L Poe

The fact that ugliness, thorns, death, pain, suffering and chaos are present in the world does not disprove design. infestation by termites does not prove the house did not have an architect. Vandalism does not prove the house did not have an architect. Arson does not prove the house did not have an architect. Sloppy homeowners who do not paint or carry out the garbage do not prove the house did not have an architect. These matters simply raise questions about the situation of the house since it was built.

I agree with this in theory but the difference between God and a architect is that God is meant to be all powerful so I would personally re-word that objection to say that the existence of pain and suffering in this world might prove that God doesn’t seem to want to do anything about it.

Science and the Bible are not compatible

I think this is covered in chapters 4, 5 and 6 I say I think because there isn’t a section directly covering this which I somewhat surprised about as I thought they would try and use some passage in the bible to prove it does have Scientific merit.

Even-though I am no Scientist I would agree with the statement above as the bible believes in miriclases while Science does not. Science may not know all the answers but it doesn’t usually jump to the supernatural as a explanation for something that is currently unexplainable.

The Bible is filled with myths and contradictions

This part is covered in Chapter 9 on page 169-174 he gives a list which Ron calls A Sampling of So-Called Contradictions. I will only write the first one he covers as this is one I have made a note of in my Observations of The Bible series I have going here.

Genesis 2:17-Did Adam die the same day? Some point out that Genesis 2:17 says Adam would die the same day he ate of the forbidden fruit, but Genesis 5:5 says Adam lived to the age of 930 years. There is no real contradiction here, for Adam and Eve did die the day they ate the fruit. They did not die physically, but they died spiritually

He then goes on to say that death carries the idea of separation as death is when the soul is separated from the body. This explanation sounds a bit like a cop out to me and besides God’s punishment for this seems unduly harsh. Let says that one of you readers came into my garden and decided to take a fruit of one of my trees and I catch you eating it I might tell you to get your thieving hands of my fruit but I wouldn’t sentence you and the future generations of your family to death for it as that would be cruel. Well according to the bible that is what God does we are all being punished by illness and death for what Adam and Eve did all those centuries ago.

The claim that Jesus is the “only way” is narrow-minded

This is covered in pages 197-204 and on page 198 he points out

While saying Jesus is the “only way” may seem narrow-minded, there are many “narrow options” in life that are not necessarily bad. For example, sometimes there is only one operation that can save your life. Sometimes there is only one road out of a forest. There is only one correct formula for Pepsi.

While it is true that there are many narrow options in life most of them don’t have the threat of being tortured forever by a so called loving  if you don’t follow that option.

I do think this book is very useful for people who debate with Christians to find out how the Christian they are debating with may respond to a point they raise.

Leave a Reply

Categories

