Posted by: pandoramoon | 23/07/2009

The 10 Most Important Things You Can Say to a Jehovah’s Witness

I must warn anyone thinking of buying this book that this book was written as a witnessing tool for Christians to use when Jehovah’s Witnesses knock on their door.

Before I go any further though I must ask a question. If this book was written in 2001 then why did Ron decide to use the 1961 version of The New World Translation, the Jehovah’s Witness bible, When the version they use is the 1984 one? At least that was still the case when I stopped going to the Jehovah’s Witness meetings in 2005.

May I suggest a new title for this book. I’m feeling that it should be called How to prove the Trinity is right to Jehovah’s Witnesses As it seems that this is Ron Rhodes’ main problem with JW’s as he spends at least 3-4 chapters of this book trying to prove that the trinity is a bibicial doctrine. I’m not sure whether it is bibicial or not but what I do know is that how it makes God sounds like he suffers from  Mutiple personality disorder with the difference that all of them think they are God. Then again the Trinity has never made much sense to me so…

One last thing and then I will end this review. In the last chapter Ron suggests that if after telling the Jehovah’s Witness about how you found Christ they are interested in having a relationship with Jesus then you should lead them into a pray like this:

Dear Jesus
I want to have a relationship with you
I know I can’t save myself because I’m a sinner.
I believe you died on the cross for me. Thank you
I accept your free gift of salvation.
Thank you, Jesus
Amen

However I must point out that the Jehovah’s Witnesses have a way of dealing with this kind of thing and I don’t think you will like it. You see they have a book called Reasoning From The Scriptures which was published in 1989 and it is used to help them deal with certain situations when going door to door. Here is a part dealing when people ask them to pray with them.

If Someone Says—

‘Pray with me first, then give me your message’

You might reply: ‘I’m glad to know that you are a person who appreciates the importance of prayer. Jehovah’s Witnesses also pray regularly. But there is something that Jesus said about when and how to pray that may be new to you. Did you know that he told his disciples not to offer public prayers with a view to having others see that they were devout, praying persons? . . . (Matt. 6:5)’ Then perhaps add: ‘Notice what he went on to say should be of primary concern to us and what we should put first in our prayers. That is what I have come to share with you. (Matt. 6:9, 10)’

Or you could say: ‘I know that representatives from some religious groups do that. But Jehovah’s Witnesses do not, because Jesus instructed his disciples to go about their work of preaching in another manner. Instead of saying, “When you enter a house, first pray,” notice what he said, as found here at Matthew 10:12, 13. . . . And see here in verse 7 what they were to talk about. . . . How can that Kingdom help people like you and me? (Rev. 21:4)’

Oh by the way I didn’t type the part above by hand instead I copied and pasted it from my copy of the 2003 Watchtower CD-Rom that was given to me in 2004.

As for Ron Rhodes book it is interesting to read but if you want to know about their beliefs then try something else. I will let you know if I find anything that fits the bill.


Responses

  1. I see that you are promoting a book by that horrid and ignorant bigot Ron Rhodes. You should avoid the ignorance and lies which he peddles with a view to lining his pockets. Mammon be Praised!

    I have no real use for Jehovah’s Witness theology. However, this blog amply demonstrates that most people who call themselves “Christians” are little more than petty simple minded bigots, ignorant of theology, lacking in an appropriately classical education, with a stunning lack of discernment, and a complete disregard for their fellow human beings.

    This is why I worship Isis. Isis is a Goddess worthy of reverent worship and offerings unlike the “Christ” this blogs rather mentally stunted author professes. The lack of discernment here is appalling as is the author’s gross mutilation and distortion of the Gospel.

    Not that all who call themselves “Christians” are knuckle dragging cretins, many are so malformed that their knuckles don’t reach the ground.

    All praise be to Isis!

    • Hi Malcolm.

      Your comment makes me wonder if you have actually read the post? as if you had you would see that I haven’t exaclty given the book a glowing review.

      I actually don’t consider myself Christian, or anyother religion for that matter, as I have found that the Christian God doesn’t seem to anywhere near as loving as people make out. I tend to think of myself as agnostic/athesit

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      • Sorry about my post. I was angry at a hate chain email sent by some fundagelical to a Mormon friend of mine that left her in tears and was out poking sticks in the eyes of evangelicals and fundamentalists on their blogs. Un-Christian I know. But very satisfying.

        Then I saw the headline about witnessing to Jehovah’s Witnesses and that its author was Ron Rhodes, fraud, liar, crook, and bigot. Nothing that comes out of his mouth or keyboard is anymore than a pack of lies and distortions. I am not a Witness, nor a Mormon, but despise the lies and hatred tossed at them by supposed “Christians”. So I flamed you with a bit of a rant I have been working on to make fundagelicals who feel like shouting their views at perfectly nice, good, and loving people, go insane with rage. Mainly for my own entertainment. More un-Christian I know.

        But the people who write these books and blogs are not interested in reason, or discussion, or love, or God. They are interested in hate, and making money. So if I can drive their blood pressure up for a minute or two by casting foul aspersions on them, mocking their beliefs, and generally lying and being as obnoxious about them as they are about others, and making them hurt for just a moment like those they hurt, I consider it my small contribution to the betterment of life here on earth as well as my own merriment.

        You should read them scream when you use their own words against them : they are deceived, ignorant of God’s word, misinformed, lack discernment (I love that one), un-Christian, do not know Christ, etc.

        They yell back that I am a bigot (but they aren’t when they hurl these phrases at a Mormon) and generally go bonkers about trolls and how the world “persecutes” “Christians”

        Great fun.

        I, btw, am a Methodist, not an atheist, pagan, agnostic, or any other of the terms they chuck back at me.

  2. Hi Malcolm

    I’m sorry about what happened to your friend with the email. I don’t know what it said but it sounds pretty bad if it made her upset.

    Ah the good old persecution complex!. I sometimes get the feeling that they want to be persecuted. I think it’s because of this passage in Matthew 5:10

    “Happy are those who have been persecuted for righteousness’ sake, since the kingdom of the heavens belongs to them”

    I don’t know how many blogs you sent your rant to but if any of them were Fundie Christian blogs they may use it a way to prove their point about Pagans are evil or something. I know you’re not pagan but they might think that if you had put “All praise Isis” on their blogs too 😉

    You might be wondering why I actually read and reviewed the book in the first place. Well I don’t remember exactly how I came across it but I somehow found it was meant to used as a Witnessing tool and thought that was somewhat ironic ,you know witnessing to the witnesses, and brought it out of curiosity since I’m an Ex Jehovah’s Witnesses and besides you don’t usually see books like this in the UK.

    I decided to review that book and other books like it on this blog because I feel there is a gap in the market so to speak as most people who review these types of books usually think they are the best thing since sliced bread and I wanted people to see a different point of view whether they agree with me or not.

    I hope that you and your friend are well and if you or your friend get an email like that again perhaps it would a good idea to send your rants to the sender of the email 🙂

    Thanks for taking the time to comment and I appreciate the apologise 🙂

    Take Care

  3. Well, now I feel the need to comment and, hopefully without offending you. My father is a Witness and has been for 25 years. My mother and father are divorced and I have not seen him in 20 years. The last relative I saw was his sister who witnessed to me for 25 minutes in that sickly sweet way they do. I simply stood there politely the whole time.

    I am not a Witness (and never was) and do not believe any of their theology. I think it is part of the reason my father will not have any contact with me, and I just generally think the more earnest ones are batty. They are the reason I strongly dislike intensely religious conservatives (even though there are many things about them that don’t fit that mold, like they don’t publicly attacking other people for their faith even if they argue the issue in private.)

    And Ron Rhodes. Ugghhh. He has defamed groups that I do belong to with lies. So a pox on him.

    But I think that for the most part the Witnesses are not worth of hatefully attacking with a pack of lies.

    Just felt the need to share.

  4. sorry about the typos, i was thinking too fast for my typing

  5. Hello again Malcolm.

    I agree with you that Jehovah’s Witnesses or any other group for that matter don’t deserve to be attacked with lies. I certainly don’t agree with Ron Rhodes views expressed in the book above.

    I am really sorry about the situation with your dad. I remember from my time with the JW’s that everyone was meant to keep “worldly associations” (being with non-JW’s) to a minimum.

    Although that shouldn’t stop them from keeping contact with non-witnesses family members, at least I hope that hasn’t changed since 2005. BTW 2005 was the last time I had darkened the doorway of any Kingdom Hall.

    Please don’t worry about any typos I couldn’t see any and don’t worry you haven’t offended me 🙂

    I hope I haven’t offended you either and I’m sorry if I have.

    Take Care


Leave a Reply

Categories

