Posted by: pandoramoon | 18/07/2009

The Fact On Jehovah’s Witnesses


I had brought this book on Amazon thinking that this would be something more neutral compared to the other books I have ordered on religion. That was until I Googled the publishers of this book Harvest House and went on their website and found that all they sold was books from Christians to Christians. Have a look on their website here to see what I mean.

Despite that I was still interested in reading this as I’m an ex Jehovah’s Witness myself I wanted to see how much fact there was in this book and for the most part I feel they have most of the facts right.

Like they don’t believe in the trinity
They believe that the Watchtower Socialaty is God’s organisation on earth
They don’t accept blood transfusions
They don’t celebrate things like birthdays, Halloween, Christmas etc

However what I think could have been a good little book on Jehovah’s Witnesses was recked for two reasons

1. Is that they showed their bias in the very first page of this book by stating.

“Through their aggressive door-to-door proselytizing and authoritarian leadership”…

By using the word authoritarian it appears they have already make up theirs minds about the nature of Jehovah’s Witnesses.

2. Because of the last section of the book where it tells Jehovah’s Witnesses that are reading the book to say a certian prayer so they can be “saved”.

All I have to say to the authors is if a Jehovah’s Witness came to your door and told you about Paradise Earth and told you how you could be there to enjoy it by having lots of bible studies and going to meetings Would you do that? No? then why do you except them to accept your beliefs?.

So if you are looking for a book telling you what Jehovah’s Witnesses believe then I would suggest looking elsewhere.

Oh and I must warn you this book is only 93 pages long and that is if you include the notes at the end of the book.

Leave a Reply

Categories

