Posted by: pandoramoon | 13/07/2009

Observations On The Bible Genesis 1-3


Since May this year I have been reading the bible on and off and have also made notes on passages that interested me for one reason or another and I am going to gradually upload them onto here.

The bible I am using is The New World Translation which is the bible that Jehovah’s Witnesses use. I’m not a Jehovah’s Witness myself but have kept the bible from my time there as a teen and also this bible is the only full bible I have so this is what I’ll be using.

Here are my observations on Genesis chapters 1-3


12 May 2009
Genesis 1-3

Genesis 1:6
“…and let a dividing occur between the waters and the waters”

Ok between the waters and the waters?!. I think these guys need a new editor!

Genesis 1:21
“And God proceeded to create the great sea monsters…”
Does this include the Loch Ness?

That’s odd in Gen 1:27 it says that God made male & female on the fifth day yet in Gen 2:7 it says that on the 7th or after then he made man out of dust then in verse 21-22 God takes his rib and makes woman with it.

Genesis 2:17
“But as for the tree of the knowledge of good and bad you must not eat from it, for in the day you eat from it you will positively die”

Ahem I think someone is telling porkies here as in Gen 3:6-7 they do eat the fruit and the only thing that happens is that they are ashamed of being naked they surely don’t die the very moment they eat it. And anyway a talking snake?. Um maybe Eve was the first Dr Doolittle?

Genesis 3:9
“And Jehovah God kept calling to the man and saying to him: “Where are you?””

I thought God was everywhere so how can Adam & Eve hide from him?

Genesis 3: 16-19
“16 To the woman he said: “I shall greatly increase the pain of your pregnancy; in birth pangs you will bring forth children, and your craving will be for your husband, and he will dominate you.” 17 And to Adam he said: “Because you listened to your wife’s voice and took to eating from the tree concerning which I gave you this command, ‘You must not eat from it,’ cursed is the ground on your account. In pain you will eat its produce all the days of your life. 18 And thorns and thistles it will grow for you, and you must eat the vegetation of the field. 19 In the sweat of your face you will eat bread until you return to the ground, for out of it you were taken. For dust you are and to dust you will return”

Isn’t Jehovah’s punishment a little harsh here. I mean not only do they get kicked out of Eden but he makes it hard for them to grow food and makes it painful for Eve to give birth. All that for eating some fruit.

Responses

  1. I'm just making sure this works as it should 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

